The dates for 2018’s live terrestrial F1 broadcasts have been announced – this will be the last year that live races will be available on British television under a Sky deal that runs until 2024.

The Monaco and British grands prix will be among 10 races broadcast live on terrestrial television in the UK in 2018. Channel 4 and Sky Sports have announced how they will divide F1 races between them in a pre-season ritual that goes back to 2012. The season opener in Australia will be shown exclusively live on Sky.

Races in Bahrain, Azerbaijan, Monaco, Austria, Britain, Belgium, Singapore, Japan, USA and Abu Dhabi will be live on Channel 4. It means the returning French and German grands prix will also be live only on Sky.

Channel 4 will show delayed highlights of the 11 races it is not broadcasting live – this is the final year of Channel 4’s three-year F1 broadcast deal, with the whole championship to be shown exclusively on Sky from next season.

F1 owner Liberty has promised fans an ‘all-new’ television experience in 2018, with new camera angles and other features being tested, as well as more freedom for teams and drivers on social media. But it seems that 2019 will be the more interesting experience, with fans unable to access the sport that has been available for decades on live terrestrial television.

2018 UK F1 TV schedule

Australian Grand Prix, 23-25 March Sky only
Bahrain Grand Prix, 6-8 April Sky and Channel 4
Chinese Grand Prix, 13-15 April Sky
Azerbaijan Grand Prix, 27-29 April Sky and Channel 4
Spanish Grand Prix, 11-13 May Sky
Monaco Grand Prix, 25-27 May Sky and Channel 4
Canadian Grand Prix, 8-10 June Sky
French Grand Prix, 22-24 June Sky
Austrian Grand Prix, 29 June – 1 July Sky and Channel 4
British Grand Prix, 6-8 July Sky and Channel 4
German Grand Prix, 20-22 July Sky
Hungarian Grand Prix, 27-29 July Sky
Belgian Grand Prix, 24-26 August Sky and Channel 4
Italian Grand Prix, 31 August – 2 September Sky
Singapore Grand Prix, 14-16 September Sky and Channel 4
Russian Grand Prix, 28-30 September Sky
Japanese Grand Prix, 5-7 October Sky and Channel 4
United States Grand Prix, 19-21 October Sky and Channel 4
Mexican Grand Prix, 26-28 October Sky
Brazilian Grand Prix, 9-11 November Sky
Abu Dhabi Grand Prix, 23-25 November Sky and Channel 4



Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.